QUICK QUESTION: SHOULD LADIES STOP BUYING ASO-EBI?

I know the covid-19 pandemic has stalled a lot of owambes scheduled for 2020. While we are hoping and praying this is all over soon, let us talk about this issue that has been on my mind for a really long time.


When a family member, friend, colleague from work or acquaintance wants to get married, there is the obligation that comes with buying the famous “aso-ebi”. Not like they make it compulsory but yet it is essential, if you know what I mean.


Is it the price that all of a sudden gets hyped, the amount we have to pay our tailor to sew the “one in town” design or the fact that after the owambe we don’t get to wear the outfit again?


What exactly is the hype behind wearing aso-ebi to events sef?


Aso-ebi is the famous name of fabric/clothing which family and friends of the celebrant(s) wear on birthdays, weddings etc. to make them stand out from other guests at the event.

Photo credit: pinterest


I love owambes and cannot wait to resume them, however, I am not a big fan of the aso-ebi. Maybe I am just being careful or just plain broke, spending a lot of money for a fabric I will wear out once to an event just isn’t for me.


Aso-ebis are spectacular and they add color to the events too. I love to see the different styles people make with them. If you can afford to splurge on them, then go ahead, if you cannot, here are a few tips to note when purchasing your next one:


1- Have an aso-ebi budget for the year and don’t go beyond it
2- Make styles that will fit other occasions’ need e.g. you could make two-pieces and wear them as separates after.
3- If you really don’t have to buy it, then don’t.

So ladies, back to my question, do you really need to buy that aso-ebi?

Photo credit: Pinterest

Found this post helpful? spread the love by sharing this with your friends.

I wrote a similar post on asoebi on Schick Magazine Website and you can read it here

Processing…
Success! You're on the list.

Published by Lifestyle with Seyi

Hi, I am Seyifunmi. I enjoy writing about life and style. Welcome to my space

2 thoughts on “QUICK QUESTION: SHOULD LADIES STOP BUYING ASO-EBI?

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started